Environment

Climate Partnership

Since 2011, the administrations of the two cities have been involved in a development partnership for climate and resource protection. Experts from both city administrations consult on issues of climate protection and adaptation, sustainable urban development and wastewater management. Numerous projects have already been implemented jointly, e.g. the renaturation of a wetland, promotion of sustainable tourism in Durban and numerous environmental education projects. The establishment of the Inanda Wilderness Park, modelled on the Bremen Children’s Wilderness, and the education of young people as Ocean Champs in the field of marine environmental education are particularly worth mentioning. Starting in 2020, Bremen and Durban will jointly implement a project on environmental education, sustainable management of green spaces and food gardening in the township of Kwa Mashu in Durban.

Since 2008 the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen has been a cooperation partner of the Partnerschaft Bremen – Durban e.V.
Silke Goethe, Development Cooperation Officer, Senate Chancellery, Free Hanseatic City of Bremen
Gregor Spanke, Town Twinning and International Affairs, Senate Chancellery, Free Hanseatic City of Bremen

Inananda Wilderness Park

The Inananda Wilderness Park in Durban is a joint project of eThekwini Municipality, the private girls’ boarding school Inanda Seminary and the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen (sustainability partnerships).
The project found its approach in the Bremen children’s wilderness and created a nature experience space in the middle of the metropolis. Through a playful approach, the children and young people discover nature and learn about its interrelationships. In this way, topics such as climate change and climate protection are vividly conveyed and lead to a sensitization of the individual.
In addition to the education of the individual, it is just as important to involve the community, which is why the park and its educational offer is available to people of all ages. In the meantime, the Inanda Wilderness Park has developed into a large nature playground with a diverse range of environmental education programs.

Ocean Champs

Ocean Champs is an initiative launched by the climate partnership of the two twin cities. The project “Bremen-Durban. Network for Marine Environmental Education”, wants to contribute to the protection of the sea, to the reduction of pollution and thus to climate protection in the eThekwini community.
Adolescents and young adults receive an 18-month training in marine environmental education in Durban. In addition to knowledge about the marine and coastal habitat, climate change and pollution problems, the participants* learn to strengthen their social and leadership skills.
The aim is to make young people in Durban aware of the importance of the oceans for climate change. Take an active role as Ocean Champs in the field of marine environmental protection and create awareness of the importance of the oceans in the community.

Umwelt

Klimapartnerschaft

Seit 2011 engagieren sich die Verwaltungen der beiden Städte in einer Entwicklungspartnerschaft für Klima- und Ressourcenschutz. Fachleute aus beiden Stadtverwaltungen beraten sich zu Themen des Klimaschutzes und der Klimaanpassung, nachhaltiger Stadtentwicklung sowie Abwassermanagement. Gemeinsam wurden bereits zahlreiche Projekte umgesetzt, z.B. Renaturierung eines Feuchtgebietes, Förderung von nachhaltigem Tourismus in Durban sowie zahlreiche Umweltbildungsprojekte. Der Aufbau des Inanda Wilderness Park, nach Vorbild der Bremer Kinderwildnis, und die Ausbildung von jungen Menschen als Ocean Champs im Bereich Meeresumweltbildung sind besonders erwähnenswert. Ab 2020 setzen Bremen und Durban gemeinsam ein Projekt zu Umweltbildung, nachhaltiger Grünflächengestaltung und Food Gardening im Township Kwa Mashu um.

Seit 2008 ist die Freie Hansestadt Bremen ein Kooperationspartner des Partnerschaft Bremen – Durban e.V.
Silke Goethe, Referentin Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Senatskanzlei, Freie Hansestadt Bremen
Gregor Spanke, Städtepartnerschaften und Internationales, Senatskanzlei, Freie Hansestadt Bremen

Inananda Wilderness Park

Der Inananda Wilderness Park in Durban ist ein gemeinsames Projekt der eThekwini Municipality, des privaten Mädcheninternates Inanda Seminary und der Freien Hansestadt Bremen (Nachhaltigkeitspartnerschaften).
Das Projekt fand seinen inhaltlichen Ansatz in der Bremer Kinderwildnis und erschuf inmitten der Metropole einen Naturerlebnisraum. Durch eine spielerische Herangehensweise lernen die Kinder und Jugendlichen die Natur entdecken und deren Zusammenhänge kennen. Themen wie Klimawandel und Klimaschutz werden auf diesem Wege anschaulich vermittelt und führen zu einer Sensibilisierung des Einzelnen.
Neben der Bildung des Einzelnen geht es genau so um die Einbeziehung der Gemeinschaft, daher steht der Park und sein pädagogisches Angebot Menschen jeden Alters zur Verfügung. Mittlerweile hat sich der Inanda Wilderness Park zu einem großen Naturspielplatz mit einem vielfältigen pädagogischen Umweltbildungsangebot entwickelt.

Ocean Champs

Ocean Champs ist eine Initiative, die durch die Klimapartnerschaft der beiden Partnerstädte ins Leben gerufen wurde. Das Projekt „Bremen-Durban. Netzwerk für marine Umweltbildung“, will hiermit einen Beitrag zum Schutz des Meeres, zur Verminderung der Verschmutzung und dadurch zum Klimaschutz im Bereich der eThekwini-Gemeinde beitragen.
Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene erhalten in Durban eine 18-monatige Ausbildung in Meeresumweltbildung. Neben Kenntnissen über den Meeres- und Küstenlebensraums, den Klimawandel und die Probleme der Umweltverschmutzung, lernen die Teilnehmer*innen ihre sozialen und Führungsqualitäten zu stärken.
Ziel ist es, dass junge Menschen in Durban sich der Bedeutung der Meere für den Klimawandel bewusst werden. Eine aktive Rolle als Ocean Champs im Bereich des Meeresumweltschutzes übernehme und in der Gemeinschaft ein Bewusstseins für die Bedeutung der Ozeane schaffen.